halloween button wreath

Posted On October 5, 2010

Filed under buttons, mod podge, Projects

Comments Dropped 2 responses

 

I recently came across this project on Mod Podge Rocks! and fell in love.  I have a thing about buttons lately so this was perfect.  I planned on making it exactly like the one posted, but as I was working I made some changes, like adding the lettering. 

First I gathered my supplies.  I had Martha Stewart brand decoupage glue and sealer as well as craft glue on hand.  I also had a bunch of black buttons but not many orange ones.  I bought a 12×12 canvas as well purple and black scrapbook paper.  I was going to buy a halloween cricuit cartridge but they were $89 so I passed and got the Martha Stewart bat punch below and used a cricuit cartridge I had on hand to cut out the letters.

                   

After I gathered my supplies, I painted my canvas with the Martha Stewart brand decoupage glue and sealer as a base coat.  As it was drying, I cut down my scrapbook paper to about 10×11.  I was able to salvage the pieces cut off to use the cricuit and cut out the words “happy halloween.”  I used my bat punch to cut out a few black bats.  By then my canvas was dry so I painted it again with another coat of the decoupage glue and applied the letters and the purple scrapbook paper.  Once that was dry I painted one last coat across the canvas.  In retrospect, I probably should have picked up mod podge specially designed for paper because  when I painted over my paper the purple color got a little streaky looking.  Its not too obvious from far away, but close up it doesn’t look great.  Here’s what it looked like at this point.

 I’m so impatient that I couldn’t wait for it to dry to start laying out my buttons…this was a bit of a waste of time.  Once the glue was dry I started laying out my buttons; this took a little longer than I thought it would because I spent some time swapping out buttons.  Once I had them where I wanted them, I glued them down, let it dry and it’s done. 

Here it is hanging on my wall and here is a close up.

2 Responses to “halloween button wreath”

  1. Suzanne

    Love it!!

  2. yes, I’m still talking about my button wreath « barefoot & polka dotted

    […] If you saw my post from a few days ago, you know that I just finished a Halloween button wreath. […]

Leave a Reply

