family picture garland

Posted On October 11, 2010

Filed under buttons, Fabric, Projects, ribbon, sewing, Wall Art

Comments Dropped 2 responses

Last Christmas I hung a Merry Christmas garland on the window over the kitchen sink.  The garland had colorful mini clothespins to display cards.  I had this hanging up for an embarrassingly long time, well past New Years, Valentines Day, and St. Patrick’s Day.  Okay, you got me…I had it up until mid August.  I liked it there, especially because it held the picture cards sent by family and friends.  With my baby’s first birthday approaching, I knew it was time to find something new for that window.  Eventually I’ll probably make curtains, but with fabric as expensive as it is, I didn’t want to rush and pick something out when I’m not sure exactly what I want to do. 

I looked through my fabric stash and pulled out a few favorites, hopped on the computer and played around with fonts and sizes and printed out the word family, and got to work.  I used the letters I printed out as a template to cut out the word family from my fabric.  I made a sandwich of the fabric in front, stabilizer in the middle, and felt I had on hand in the back.  In retrospect, I probably should have used a stiffer fabric.  I sewed each letter together, then on to the ribbon.  On the front of the ribbons down the sides I hand stitched buttons and on the back I used small clothespins, which can hold pictures. 

Here’s the results:

 

Here’s a close up of one of the pictures: my husband and baby last halloween. 

2 Responses to “family picture garland”

  1. Susan

    This is so nice to look at. I love it!

  2. Susan

    I love the colors on this.

Leave a Reply

