Crib Rail Guard

Posted On October 13, 2010

Filed under baby, Fabric, polka dots, Projects, ribbon, sewing
Tags: ,

Comments Dropped 2 responses

A couple of months ago I thought my baby might have been half human, half termite.  If your baby is anything like mine, you know what I’m talking about.  He’d crawl over to the end table, side table and just about anything else, pull himself up, and start chewing.  My husband and I were always there to redirect him during the day, but we were not in the room with him when he was in his crib during naps and at night.  And it wasn’t long before we noticed teeth marks on the crib rail.  I believe I mentioned my obsession with craft blogs.  I love Craft Gossip and knew that I could find the solution to my problem there, mainly because you can find almost anything there.  I typed “crib rail guard” into their search box and found it…a homemade crib rail guard.  Click on the link for detailed instructions. 

Here’s my take…polka dotted, of course.

 

First I knotted the ribbons together then I tied them into a bow.  This way, when my baby learned to untie the bows, the guards stayed on.  I also took a lighter and held it close to the ends of the ribbons one by one to melt them slightly and prevent them from fraying.

Opps…I forgot to point out the crib skirt I made with the left over fabric, though you don’t really get a good view of it from these pictures.  I had another crib skirt and I used the middle part of that as my base.  I then added panels of the polka dotted fabric.

2 Responses to “Crib Rail Guard”

  1. Susan

    This came out great! Very nice.

Leave a Reply

