silhouette picture

Posted On October 15, 2010

Filed under baby, mod podge, paper crafting

Comments Dropped 3 responses

I happened across a blog with a silhouette picture tutorial  and fell in love.  I feel like I keep coming across crafts that involve silhouettes so I decided that it was time for me to make one.  I followed the basic steps on the tutorial with one major difference…I did it low tech.  The tutorial has you editing the picture and playing with contrast and I don’t know how to do any of those things.  Here’s how I did it.

I found a picture I loved and wanted to use…the problem, you’ll see below, is that my baby is throwing his head back so if I was to use that as it is, he’d look like the headless horseman minus the horse.  So I looked for a picture that I can use for his head.  I wanted one that showed a profile.  Once I found one I printed them out on my computer, both sized 5×7. 

Once I had them printed out, I cut them out by hand.  I used small sharp scissors that I use only for scrapbooking.  My baby has crazy hair and I wanted that to show up in the picture, so I exaggerated it as I cut it out.  I also made sure that I paid close attention to the detail on the shorts.  I then realized that my picture I was using for the head was too large, so I scrapped it and printed one out 4×6.  Much better. 

I positioned and then taped the head and body together, flipped it over, and used that as my template. 

I happened to have some black paper on hand, used to cut out the bats on my halloween button wreath.  I traced my template and then cut out my figure.

Meanwhile I pulled apart an old book that I had and started to decide what pages I wanted to use. 

After I decide which pages to used and where, I put a layer of decoupage glue on the back of the pages and layered them on by one on the glass of the frame I was using.  I used a credit card to smooth out each page after I applied it to the glass.  I put a layer of glue on the front and let it dry.

After the glue dried as I was planning where I was going to put my figure, disaster struck…kind of.  Our power went out.  Don’t let these pictures fool you, it was dark in our house. 

Above are candles I lit and below are my dogs trying to figure out what was going on.  I’m going to blame the mess on the blackout. 

Since the power didn’t come back on until somewhere in the neighborhood of 1:30 am, that was all for the night. 

The next night after work and after the baby was alseep for the night, I returned to work.  After laying the silhouette out on the glass on top of the pages already decoupaged down, I thought that it needed something so I turned again to my cricut machine.  I used this cartridge to cut out the word son and a heart. 

I didn’t like the first ones, so I cut out  new, thinner letters and a solid heart.

The next morning before work I added a layer of glue to my silhouette, letters, and heart and attached them to the paper covered glass.  After smoothing them out with a credit card, I put another layer of glue to the entire front of the glass.

By the time I got home from work, it had dried completely so I turned the glass over and used a razor to cut off the excess paper.

Don’t mind the mess in the background.  I’m going to blame that on the blackout.

Now I was ready to pop it into a frame!  And it’s done! 

In case you can’t tell, he’s holding my husband and my hands in the picture.  My husband asked, “what is he holding?  Bats?”  Of course he claimed he was kidding when he saw my face. 

Next time I might use the matte mod podge because it came out pretty shiny, which makes it really hard to get a good picture.

Here are some close ups. 

 

You can see that some parts of the paper got saturated and became a gray color.  I was ready to start over but my husband liked the effect (or at least that’s what he told me so I wouldn’t start over), because it was black, white, and gray.  If you wanted to prevent this, you could put another layer of paper on the glass (you’ll notice it’s not gray in the places where the paper overlaps).

3 Responses to “silhouette picture”

  1. Susan

    This is so nice and inspiring!. I want to go home and make something right now.

    • loriede

      Thanks! I’m glad you said that because my camera doesn’t take great pictures so I didn’t think it looked that good. Same for the ribbon wreath; Suzanne told me that it looked much nicer in person.

  2. Suzanne

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

