crafting with mom

Sometimes I just can’t control myself.  Most of those times involve buying things.  That’s why subscribing to deal-of-the-day websites is just a bad idea.  I end up seeing things that I never knew existed but now that I know I have to have.  So the other day I opened my email from scrapbook steals.com and saw Boulder Innovations Custom Magnet Boards Kit.  Don’t know what that is?  Neither did I, but now I own it.  See below for a pic.

You decorate the wood,  the magnetic metal, and magnet (not pictured here) and then attach the metal to the wood and viola!  Custom magnet board!  I though I would be able to make a large message board for the kitchen or menu board.  But another part of the problem is when I buy things, I don’t often pay attention to the details.  Instead of this being really big, it’s actually quite small.  And instead of getting 1, I got 5.  But it turned out okay in the end.  My mom came to visit and we each decorated one.  I just got some new paper from Creative Memories and we used that. 

Here are our final products, with the magnets…



And without the magnets…

Here’s my mom’s…

And mine…

And another view…

Sinced this one is decorated for fall, I think I’m going to decorate the last three I have for the other three seasons of the year.  And now I have to wait until they come up again on scrapbooksteals.com to get more so my mom can have one for each season too.  My sister might want to do one and I’m sure my niece would love to decorate one as well.  Not exactly sure what I’ll use it for, but my mom is planning on using it while she cooks to hold her recipes.

3 Responses to “crafting with mom”

  1. Susan

    I had the best time doing this. It was really fun!

  2. Joe Epperson

    Why barefoot & polka dotted

    • loriede

      Because I don’t like to wear shoes and I love polka dots.

Leave a Reply

